Uncategorized

Player Profile #38 – Adam Stevens

Welcome to the 38th edition of my Player Profile interview series. Just to make you aware that following this interview I have a further three interviews lined up which will be published in the very near future. Yet again I must thank John McMillan for putting me in contact with these players as well as many previous players that I have interviewed on previous occasions too.

So, as you can see my guest today is Adam Stevens, a 28 year old goalkeeper from Aldershot. As you will read, Adam has played for several non league clubs here in England as well as playing for a club in Cyprus too. Adam has a great story to tell and I hope you enjoy what he has to say.

Name: Adam Stevens

Age: 28

Place of Birth: Aldershot, England

Position: Goalkeeper

Current Club: Bangor City

Previous Clubs: AEZ Zakakiou Glossop North End, Goole AFC, Armthorpe Welfare and many more

Adam pictured above for his current club Bangor City

GT: Thanks very much for agreeing to this interview Adam. The first question I would like to ask you is about the first club you have listed as one of your previous clubs – AEZ Zakakiou. I must admit that I’ve never heard of this club, can you give me some information on the club please and how you came to play for them?

AS: So, AEZ Zakakiou are a Cypriot Second Division located in Limassol. I was offered to go out their by current manager Savvas.

I had a great time out there and would love to go back. Unfortunately due to Covid 19 my contract that was offered got retracted. A lot of clubs hit financially!

Playing for AEZ Zakakiou

GT: What a shame for you, lets hope that when things get back to a bit of normality that you might get the chance to play abroad again. Speaking of which, how did you find playing in the Cypriot Second Division and how did the standard of play compare to what you had experienced earlier in your career?

AS: Unfortunately I wasn’t there when the season started however we had some good pre season games against very good sides. One of which was Othellos Athienou who currently are pushing for promotion to the Cypriot top flight.

In terms of quality I feel that the division was around about a similar level to the 5th/6th tier of English football. I felt really comfortable and really felt I could move forward into the first division out there. I am looking at chances to go back abroad but Covid and Brexit has made it more of a challenge than before.

GT: So it was a very decent level of football then. I would also like to hear about your time playing for some of the other of your previous clubs that you have mentioned and as you put it, the ‘many more’ clubs. Who was the first club in adult football that you played for?

AS: At the age of 16 I signed for Goole AFC, playing my first game in the Evo-Stik Division 1 North against Radcliffe, the game finished in a 1-1 draw. I had a great game and that set me up for the future.

Pre match handshakes whilst with Goole AFC

From there I have been with and trialled for clubs like North Ferriby FC, Glossop North End, Bridlington Town and Armthorpe Welfare. A lot of these clubs were whilst I was at Hull University playing first team football there so it was good to have a good level of football on a Wednesday and Saturday. However it wasn’t until after university that I started reaching out to clubs abroad and pushing for a higher level.

In action for Armthorpe Welfare

GT: You have mentioned some very well respected non league clubs there Adam and to make your debut at just 16 for Goole is amazing! What do you remember from that game?

AS: My opposite number I believe was released from Manchester City that season, that stood out at the standard of players on the pitch. I went into the game with no fear and made some considerable contributions and had the Radcliffe fans clap me off. I felt super happy and yeah just a good start to my senior career.

GT: Sounds as if you had a fantastic senior debut then – since then do any of the games that you have played during your career stand out particularly for you?

AS: Debut for AEZ was a good one, we had a great cup run at Winterton where we won the North Lincolnshire Cup. Unfortunately I couldn’t play in the final due to a suspension. But in the semi final we beat our local rivals and my former side Barton Town 1-0!

GT: I bet you really enjoyed that semi-final win especially being able to keep a clean sheet too. So, your current club is Bangor City in Wales, when did you join the club and how did the move come about?

AS: Yeah absolutely especially as they had the majority of the ball. Big saves, big blocks by the defence a wonderful goal and an eventful night after!

The move to Bangor was crazy! Well, this season has been a crazy one!

It started with AEZ, I was offered to go back to Cyprus with Kouris Erimi in the Second Division but that got cancelled, again due to Covid. I went out on trial at Las Rozas CF (Spanish third tier) but again that was all effected due to Covid. Hugo Solace the manager at Bangor then got in touch with me out of the blue and offered me a trial. I went down the next day on a Sunday and was signed that day. We trained for two month solid with top class players from around the world like Giacomo Mello, and as we got ready for the season the season got cancelled! Which has killed me!

GT: To say that Covid has got in the way of things would be a massive understatement! But, with things slowly starting to return to a bit of normality, hopefully you and many others can start playing football again. What has your routine been since Covid, for example keeping fit, etc?

AS: Yeah it’s been disheartening but I’m trying to stay positive and open to opportunities. Keeping fit is easy now the gyms are back open so I’m strength training five times a week and sport specific cardio training four times a week to keep ready physically.

In terms of football I’m trying to keep as active as possible with training with goalkeeping coaches but at the moment there is no training with my current club at Bangor, so it’s just doing as much as I can for the time being.

GT: So when football resumes again for you, what are your immediate ambitions other than just getting back to playing again obviously?

AS: So right now I’m working with an agency to help get something sorted. With Covid restrictions still going it’s difficult to say especially with my abroad aspirations. That being said I don’t rule anything out and if something comes up and the contract is good I will take it. I’m ambitious and playing the best football of my career which is helped by training full time for both AEZ and Bangor. So I’ll hold tight and wait for the right opportunity and just keep fit and sharp and be ready for anything

GT: I really hope that you can get something sorted Adam and you can get your career up and running again. You have been a great guest on my interview series and I thank you very much for your time. In closing I would like to ask you one final question if I may – if you had to give a young player any advice on making their way in the game, what would that be?

AS: No problem it has been a pleasure to answer some questions.

If I was going to tell a young player anything it would be the same thing I’d tell myself if I was to start over my careera and that would be don’t settle. At times in my career I played for clubs that lacked ambition and I think I stalled my personal growth. I’d of gone abroad a lot sooner and taken opportunities out there.

Ex academy players especially if released I would recommend them to go out and play professional lower tier levels in places like Gibraltar and so on, get good footage and learn the game.

I’m 29 this year and I feel I’ve come up the hard way and only now I can reap the rewards. I feel if I went abroad earlier I’d be getting more offers than I do now because my name would be on the map in more countries.

Players, especially younger players should always play the game with a smile because if not you end up not pushing yourself to that next level.

Standard

Leave a comment